Nai Nam Communal House - original architectural work

Published: July 10, 2013

Situated in Nam Son Residential Area, Hoa Cuong Ward, Hai Chau District, Da Nang, the Nai Nam Communal House is among the few ancient relics in the inner-city which retain their original architecture.

The house was built in 1905 to worship the village’s tutelary and its founders.  It is a surviving example of a typical Vietnamese ancient communal house.  The house is a great example of the architectural style of the Nguyen dynasty, with a pantile roof and brick walls.  Its roof is decorated with two dragons flanking a moon, a well-matched pair of phoenixes, and bats holding peaches in their mouths.  They are all encrusted with shards of pottery.  Most notably, the house has 20 jack tree wood pillars, each measuring between 2.5 and 4.5m in height.  The structure of the rafters is patterned after "Chong ruong - Gia thu".  The pillars against the walls are carved with stylised floral designs, and the gable is ingeniously carved by skillful carvers from Kim Bong Village in Hoi An.

A peace prayer ceremony takes place annually at this house on the full moon day of the 2nd lunar month and the 30th day of the 12th lunar month.

Hat boi at the annual festival
“Bai choi” (singing while acting as playing cards)

During the wars against the French and the Americans, the Nai Nam communal house was used as a revolutionary base.  This is the place where new members of the Communist Party of Viet Nam were admitted, and preparations were made for attacks on the inner-city by revolutionary soldiers in 1950, 1951, 1960, 1965, 1968 and 1975.  It also saw the heroic fighting spirit of the numerous local residents who gave their lives for national independence and freedom.

Apart from its original architecture, the Nai Nam Communal House also boasts two large, old, banyan trees dating back more than 100 years which help to enhance its inherent majesty and beauty.

Due to its cultural and historical value, the communal house was recognised as a national historical relic on 4 January 1999 by the Ministry of Culture and Information.

Thanks to its long and eventful history, the house is a trove of fascinating architecture and has become an attractive destination for both domestic and foreign visitors.  It is attracting tourists in large numbers every year.